Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez said today, Sunday, that his country will open its borders to the countries of the Schengen area in the European Union on June 21, a date that was announced ten days earlier, with the exception of Portugal, where it will open the borders with it in the beginning of July.

Spanish media, including El Pais newspaper and a local radio station, had previously reported expectations of the decision.

Spain, one of the most visited destinations in the world, remains closed to tourists and those allowed to enter from abroad must remain in quarantine for 14 days.

The Spanish government had previously said that it would allow foreign tourists to enter Spain on July 1 without a self-quarantine, with the exception of the Balearic Islands, which may begin receiving German tourists tomorrow Monday as part of a pilot program.